you're reading...
Seasonal, Thoughts

Happy New Year, from My (Dirty) Expat Kitchen

“Sheeze, I thought I cleaned this place.”

This is what I thought when I came back from two wonderful weeks at home in California. I have this agreement with myself that before I go away on long vacations, I clean. I know that two-weeks-in-the-future me will expect this from me, and since that’s one relationship that needs no more complication than it already has, I always try to abide by the cleaning rule. This time around, I was very disappointed in my performance.

But dirty dishes or no dirty dishes, cabbage on the floor or no cabbage on the floor, here it is, 2012.

It’s a big year for me. I have a wedding coming up in May – and reflecting seriously on one aspect of life makes others beg for the same attention. It’s the year to look inside, and then look ahead. 

Most of our plans are just ideas, for now, how they can all be fit in to one lifetime remains to be seen. (To give you an idea of their range, I spent a good hour on Sunday reading blogs about moving to Norway). But for both of us, there are certain things that, fates allowing, must be included:

  • Good, healthy food
  • Exercise, especially of the outdoor variety
  • Writing

With this last goal in mind, I’ve resolved to overcome a sustained dry spell and continue this blog. I’ll do my best to bring you more recipes, useful information, and amusing stories from my life here in Japan. Thanks for reading, and for all of your encouraging comments in 2011. Thanks especially to my family, for all the love, yard work in the rain, and good food – rejuvenated, I’m ready for a new year.

All the best in 2012!

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year, from My (Dirty) Expat Kitchen

  1. Do the Japanese have any dishes similar to the quiche? (eggs, cream, cheese and other fillings inside a crust)

    Posted by Ginger | January 14, 2012, 11:20 am
    • Dairy wasn’t widely consumed in Japan until fairly recently, and even now, cheese and milk aren’t as ubiquitous as they are in other parts of the world – so no, I can’t think of what the Japanese equivalent of a quiche would be. However, I have seen quiche for sale in some bakeries and cafes here. Actually, the place just down the road from me makes a pretty good one, with bacon and mushrooms. Yum!

      Posted by cheruko | January 14, 2012, 11:44 am
      • the closest thing i would think of would be chawanmushi. its like a savory custard, so a softer quiche without the crust….

        Posted by Ed | January 18, 2012, 2:45 pm
  2. Hi Gromit!,
    It was fun having you all here during the holidays…nice blog, keep on writing…

    Posted by Jay Odee | January 15, 2012, 12:51 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers

